Oliva LLC Issues Allergy Alert On Undeclared Sesame In Baba Ghanouj, Spicy Baba Ghanouj, And Hummus
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Oliva LLC says it is recalling about 250 Riad’s Oliva to Go Baba Ghanouj, Spicy Baba Ghanouj and hummus units because sesame was not declared on the labels. The products were distributed to gourmet shops and farm markets in Litchfield County, Connecticut, and the Great Barrington, Massachusetts, area; no illnesses had been reported as of the October 9 announcement.

Oliva LLC is recalling about 250 containers of Riad’s Oliva to Go Baba Ghanouj, Spicy Baba Ghanouj and hummus because the products may contain undeclared sesame, the company announced October 9. The products were sold through gourmet shops and farm markets in parts of Connecticut and Massachusetts; people with sesame allergies or severe sensitivities could face a serious reaction if they eat them.

The recall covers products packaged in clear, square plastic containers with white-and-green labels. The company says the affected products were distributed to gourmet shops and farm markets in Litchfield County, Connecticut, and the Great Barrington, Massachusetts, area. The FDA posted the company’s announcement as a public service; the agency states that posting such notices does not mean it endorses a product or company.

The date ranges listed in the notice are October 10 through October 14, 2026, for Baba Ghanouj; October 10 through October 14 for Spicy Baba Ghanouj; and October 12 through October 18 for hummus. The announcement spells the spicy product as “Spicy Baby Ghanouj” in its recalled-product list, while identifying it elsewhere as Spicy Baba Ghanouj. Consumers should check the product name and best-by date stamped on the side of the label.

Oliva said the recall began after an inspection found sesame missing from the ingredient declaration. The company said it has corrected its labeling since discovering the discrepancy. It urged people who purchased the listed products to return them to the place of purchase for a full refund or replacement. The notice said no illnesses had been reported in connection with the issue as of the announcement.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Announced October 9, 2026
The developmentOliva LLC announced a recall of about 250 dip containers after an inspection found sesame was not listed on their ingredient declarations.

Sesame Allergy Risk for Buyers

Sesame is a food allergen, and an ingredient label that does not disclose its presence can leave people with an allergy or severe sensitivity unaware of a potential exposure. Oliva’s announcement warns that eating the recalled products could lead to a serious or life-threatening allergic reaction in those consumers. The notice does not say that every container contains sesame; it says the products may contain it and that it was not declared.

The recall is limited in the announcement to approximately 250 units distributed through specified retail channels in two areas. That local distribution information can help shoppers identify whether they may have bought an affected product. The company’s return-for-refund-or-replacement instruction gives purchasers a direct remedy, while the lack of reported illnesses is a status update—not a guarantee that the products pose no risk to someone with a sesame allergy.

Amazon

sesame allergy safe hummus

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How the Labeling Problem Was Found

The notice was published by the FDA on October 9, 2026, under the company-announcement format used for recalls, market withdrawals and safety alerts. The FDA explains that it posts a company’s announcement as a public service and does not endorse the product or the company. The recall reason listed in the notice is an undeclared sesame allergen.

According to Oliva, an inspection identified that sesame was absent from the products’ ingredient declarations. The company said it corrected its labeling after finding the discrepancy. The announcement does not describe how sesame entered the products or explain whether the ingredient was used directly, introduced during production, or present through another route. It identifies three products and their best-by date ranges, rather than describing a broader recall of other Oliva items.

““The recall was initiated after an inspection revealed that sesame was not declared on the product ingredient declaration.””

— Oliva LLC, in the company announcement

Amazon

gluten-free baba ghanouj

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Details Not Given in the Notice

The announcement does not identify which stores or markets received each product, provide lot or batch codes, or state how many of the approximately 250 units were sold or remain with consumers. It also does not explain the source of the sesame or say whether the products contained sesame as an ingredient or were exposed to it during production. The notice’s wording is that the products may contain undeclared sesame.

Oliva reported no illnesses as of the announcement, but the notice does not provide later updates or say whether additional reports have since been received. It also does not specify how the corrected labeling was verified or whether further regulatory action is planned. Consumers who are unsure whether a container is covered can contact the company using the number in the notice.

Amazon

food allergy alert labels

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Returns and Company Inquiries

Consumers who bought the listed Riad’s Oliva to Go products are urged to return them to the place of purchase for a full refund or replacement. The company lists 203-266-5558 for questions and says its consumer line is available Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Eastern. The announcement does not give a deadline for returns.

Shoppers can compare the product name and best-by date on the side label with the affected ranges: October 10–14 for both Baba Ghanouj varieties and October 12–18 for hummus. The company’s notice says its labeling has been corrected, but does not describe any additional action or provide a later status update. Any changes to the recall scope or reports of illness remain unconfirmed in the material available here.

Amazon

reusable food storage containers

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Key Questions

Which products are included in the recall?

The recall covers Riad’s Oliva to Go Baba Ghanouj, Spicy Baba Ghanouj and hummus in the stated best-by date ranges. The products are described as clear square plastic containers with white-and-green labels.

Where were the recalled products distributed?

Oliva says they were distributed to gourmet shops and farm markets in Litchfield County, Connecticut, and the Great Barrington, Massachusetts, area. The announcement does not list individual retailers.

What should consumers do with an affected product?

Return it to the place of purchase for a full refund or replacement, as directed by the company. Consumers with questions can call Oliva at 203-266-5558, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Eastern.

Have any illnesses been reported?

The company announcement said no illnesses had been reported in connection with the issue as of October 9, 2026. People with sesame allergies or severe sensitivities could still face a serious reaction if they consume a product containing sesame.

Source: primary

Wellness content on this site is informational and not a substitute for professional medical guidance.
You May Also Like

Straight To The Top: Patients Email Insurance CEOs Over Care Denials

Two patients received coverage approvals after emailing insurance leaders, though advocates warn the approach is difficult and not a substitute for fair appeals.

Stormont Vail Surges In Global Coverage

Stormont Vail hospital experiences a surge in international media coverage, with GDELT recording seven mentions in recent hours, highlighting increased global interest.

Brain Scans Reveal Which Disorders Are Linked To Faster Brain Aging

An MRI study links dementia, addiction and some psychiatric disorders with higher brain age estimates, while ADHD and autism showed no overall difference.

Scientists discover a surprising link between vitamin C and brain health

New research suggests vitamin C may play a role in supporting cognitive function and brain health, though further studies are needed to confirm implications.